Bowdoin Announces Six Inductees to 2018 Athletic Hall of Honor Class

Bowdoin Announces Six Inductees to 2018 Athletic Hall of Honor Class
BRUNSWICK, Maine - Bowdoin College has announced the six inductees that will comprise the 2018 class for the Bowdoin College Athletic Hall of Honor.

The six distinguished individuals will be honored at a ceremony on Homecoming Saturday, October 6.

In its 16th year of existence, the Bowdoin College Athletic Hall of Honor was founded in 2002 to perpetuate the memory of those persons who have brought distinction, honor and excellence to Bowdoin through their accomplishments in athletics.

The Class of 2018 includes:
Legendary track & field coach Frank Sabasteanski '41 - Sabasteanski was the head coach of the Polar Bear track & field teams from 1955-1983 following a stellar career as a football and track athlete at Bowdoin. The coach of seven All-Americans and two national champion hammer throwers, he also was a member of the U.S. Track & Field Committee and coached the Ghanian national Olympic track team in 1964.
Record-breaking defensive back Dana Verrill '72 - one of the finest defensive backs in the history of the NESCAC, Verrill still holds the Bowdoin school record for interceptions in a season (8, 1970) and in a career (16). A captain of the 1971 squad, his teams won three CBB Championships and came within two points of a perfect season in 1970.
National champion thrower and pro football lineman Dick Leavitt '76 - one of the finest multi-sport athletes in Bowdoin's history, Leavitt was a multi-time All-American and national-champion shot putter, claiming the NCAA title in 1975. He graduated holding the indoor and outdoor shot put records at Bowdoin and was also an offensive lineman for the Polar Bears, where he went on to play three seasons professionally for the New York Giants.
Softball, basketball and soccer standout Christine Craig '86 - Craig dominated in all three sports for Bowdoin and still ranks among the top hitters in softball program history with a career .388 batting average and .543 slugging percentage. She led the 1985-86 basketball team in scoring (16.0 ppg) and, in her one year as a soccer goaltender, won 11 games with a 0.65 goals against average, still ranking second all-time in school history.
Field hockey and ice hockey star Marissa O'Neil '05 - A standout on the field and the ice, O'Neil graduated as the most prolific scorer in Bowdoin field hockey history, scoring an unprecedented 125 points, including 47 career goals while earning NESCAC Player of the Year and First Team All-American recognition. She was also a three-time All-NESCAC honoree in ice hockey, where she helped lead the most successful senior class in Polar Bear women's ice hockey history (85 wins, two NESCAC Championships, two Final Fours).
Women's basketball National Player of the Year Eileen (Flaherty) Moore '07 - the most decorated player in Bowdoin basketball history, Flaherty scored 1,864 points in becoming the first four-time First Team All-NESCAC player in NESCAC history. She was a two-time First Team All-American and was named as the 2007 NCAA Division III WBCA Player of the Year while leading her class to a program-best 112 wins and four straight NESCAC Championships.
For more information about past inductees, visit the Athletic Hall of Honor Website. More information about Homecoming Weekend and the Hall of Honor Ceremony will be available in the coming months. Check the Bowdoin Athletics Website and the Alumni Relations Homepage for the latest details, when available